Strategy Board Games Napoleon Waterloo Gettysburg Bulge Supremacy

Brandywine Q&A

Q&A


Some players like more detail or have specific questions on play.  You can find many answers here.  Don’t see your question?  Send us an email!


Can I decide to attempt an alter roll AFTER my opponent has already started moving?

Yes!  If you are successful, your opponent must undo his move so that you can move first.


 

 

If a piece in Road Column on a Minor Road (2 column markers) goes onto a Major Road, do you remove 1 column marker.

Yes.


After a retreat, can a piece adjust its facing? If not, which way should it be facing?

A retreating piece will turn and face the direction it is running in. Once it gets there, no it cannot make a facing change.


Can units enter or set up in Road Column?

Yes!


If a HQ rolls and goes ahead of the drawn Chit, the rules do not say if the superseded chit automatically then goes next or goes back into the cup. 

The superseded chit automatically goes next.


For multi-unit combat, what if the original attacker was flanking? Does the original flanking attacker and the original defender roll simultaneously and then the 2nd attacker (who is attacking frontally) then roll?

In this case, the defender and frontal attacker would both fire together. Then the flanking attacker would fire.


If both players have support in a battle, and both front units retreat or are eliminated, who decides 1st whether their support will fight or retreat?

Defender, then Attacker.


How hard and fast are retreat direction rules? A colonial had to retreat but directly away from the attack would run into a Brit. But he could retreat off to his side – thus not exactly “away from the combat.”  Allowed?

Yes. This is allowed. We don’t treat this strictly. It has to be moving mostly away from the enemy, up to 45°. It also has to make a full 1/3  move. If it can’t at least make a 1/3 move away, then it is destroyed.


For bombardment, is it center of artillery to center of target, or any part of artillery to any part of target?

Majority of the piece. Both target and firing piece.


When do you determine the HQ range to be able to attack?

At the beginning of movement.


Can I Road March up to the enemy, then drop into line and attack?

No.  The enemy won’t sit and patiently watch while you form into line and then attack.  You need at least a little space and time to do that.  How much?  1/3 of a move.  So, before you attack, you need to change into line formation and then have at least 1/3 of your move left to close and attack the enemy.  If you don’t you must halt and wait until next turn to attack.


Why can’t I kill or capture an HQ?

Because they are mounted, could see you coming and would simply fall back/move to avoid contact.


Can I use HQs to move through enemy lines and attack them?

No.


Which roads are which?

Major roads are the 2 big ones with ‘lanterns’ (dots) along them.


What if my British pieces block the Colonial pieces from getting to the Major Road?

That’s not good enough. They still threaten the road. They must be pushed back.


Can the British enter the map in road column?

Yes. Just keep in mind that they would be strung out and must comply with this condition and costs to change back into regular line formation.


Can artillery fire in any direction?

No. They must fire to their front. They can fire in an arc up to 45° off either end.


Can artillery change its facing, then bombard?

Yes, as long as they don’t move.  A facing change doesn’t count. 


Can I look at enemy pieces to see who they are?

No. They should remain hidden until combat or they become spent. If your piece is fresh and will somehow be facing so that your opponent can see the label, you can turn it label down to keep it hidden.


Can a piece move between obstacles (uncrossable rivers or enemy pieces) if it can’t ‘fit’ between them?

It can if the ‘majority’ of the piece could fit between them.


What if the defender is lined up right along the banks of a river. Can I still attack him across the bridge?

Yes.


If an elite is already spent, does it still absorb the first hit?

Yes, this is per combat. Not per round, per game or per hits taken. So if it starts a new combat as spent, the first hit is absorbed. The second hit would cause it to retreat and so on.


Where does the hill start? At the bottom of the hash lines or the top?

At the bottom. So a piece ON the hash lines is on the hill.


Do buildings affect play?

Not in this battle. The towns are too small. They must be the majority of the terrain to count.


Can I trace my 1/3 cavalry move to an HQ for attacking through enemy pieces?

No.


Can you attack a Road Column marker?

Yes. They are all treated as the piece for combat.


I want to go into Column to run away but there isn’t room for my columns to extend behind me. Can I do this?

Yes. Move your piece onto the road. Stack the columns up at that location. Move the lead piece forward and pull the columns out to trail behind you as you essentially march out of your position.


Are the highlanders elite?

Yes.


Do the Colonials have any elites?

No.


 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Brandywine Q&A

    • YES! In fact, when we started out, we had OB sheets that recorded the man power strength of each unit. You would check off 500 casualties for each hit. I really liked that method. It gave you hidden strength that way. You knew you’ve pounded that unit a few times but you couldn’t be sure how much longer they could last.

      Each Block in Brandywine would be made up of 4 little Bn Kriegsspiel blocks. In fact, it translates very well if you want more detail. The real Kriegsspiel pieces are scaled to work for the same map. We have a blog post comparing the two systems in scale and everything.

      You could use the Kriegsspiel dice to calculate casualties. Just check them off on a separate OB chart.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *