Dracula Rules Q&A | Command Post Games
Strategy Board Games Napoleon Waterloo Gettysburg Bulge Supremacy

Dracula Rules Q&A

 

You can find most answers to your Rules Questions here for:

Forest of the Impaled:  Dracula’s Final Stand

Don’t see your question?  Send us an email or comment below and we’ll add it!

 


Q:  Groups: Does the HQ rating determine how many troops that can be in a group, rather than the number of groups that a HQ can control?

A:  Yes.  It controls the maximum number of troops in a Group.  There is no limit to the number of Groups the HQ can control, as long as they don’t surpass the Max Army size of 12 Troops.  


Q:  Maximum Army Size: Must armies, an army being all of the troops under the command of one HQ, move one at a time since their HQ’s are activated one at a time?

A:  Yes, the Armies move under the control of their HQ, as they move one at a time.  So you can’t move several Armies at once with different HQs to combine into 1 big attack.  


  

Q:  Moving: Is the number of MP’s for HQ’s unlimited? If not, what is an HQ’s maximum MP’s?  Page 2

A:  No.  Maximum MPs for HQs is 3.


Q:  Recruiting: If optional rule for Radu to change sides is used, can he still recruit in Moldavia and is he prevented from recruiting in the Muslim controlled home area?  Page 3

A:  No, this only applies to the regular game.  IF using the optional scenario where Radu remains loyal to Dracula, his home areas and recruiting will be in Wallachia and Transylvania.


Q:  Impalements: Does placing Impalements occur doing movement and does it not use any MP’s?  Page 4

A:  Yes, it takes place while Dracula is moving.  No it does not cost any MPs.  


Q:  Impalements: Can Dracula use a troop from the Muslim dead pool?

A:  Yes!!!  🙂


Q:  Searching: Is a die roll made for each group in the area where a battle occurs? This is implied in the example, but not explicitly in the rules.   Page 5

A:  Yes.  Each Inactive Group rolls to search at the beginning of each Round.


Q:  Fire and Surprise Fire: If the number of active troops firing exceeds the number of enemy active troops, they may fire at enemy inactive troops. Does the word “may” imply that the excess active firing troops may instead fire at the enemy active troops causing two troops to fire on the same group?

A:  Yes, absolutely.  There is no requirement to Surprise Fire but it is usually to your benefit.  So, in the example at the bottom of page 4, Dracula doesn’t have to Surprise Fire at all.  All 11 Troops could fire at the 4 Active Muslim defenders.  In this case, the 8 Inactive defending Troops wouldn’t participate at all.

This should be more than enough firepower to destroy the 4 Active defenders.  The problem is that any excess hits you get would be wasted.  

The same applies in the example.  If the 4 Troops firing at the 2 Inactive defenders score 4 hits, they only kill those 2 defenders.  The other 2 hits are wasted.


Q:  Retreat: Do units only retreat one area?   Page 6

A:  Yes.


Q:  Storm: When are Storms done, at the same time as battles are done or when Sieges are done?

A:  Storming is an attack.  So they are done as Combat when battles are done:  Step 4.  Sieges are done at the end of the turn after all HQs have gone:  Step 6.  – See top of page 2.  Looks like the step numbers got a little jumbled.  We’ll get this corrected.    


Q:  Storm: Can multiple Storms be done against the same castle during the same turn or battle segment?

A:  Yes!!  It is done in combat at the attackers discretion.  So let’s say I Storm your Castle at Valcea.  I fight for 6 rounds and only have 2 Troops left so I give up and stop.  You still control the Castle.  The next Muslim HQ that moves, could bring his army into the area and attempt to Storm Valcea also.  So you can have multiple attempts in the same game turn.  


Q:  Storm and Siege: Is an HQ required to be the area in order for a Storm or Siege be attempted?

A:  You must have an HQ there to Storm because this is an attack.  An HQ is not required to Siege.  So you can leave troops behind and keep marching north.  -as long as you leave behind more Troops to Siege than the defender has in the Castle.  


Q:   Inactive groups that were fired at Activate and Fire.
If the defenders have no HQ do the surviving troops, which start the battle automatically inactive, get to Activate and Fire or do they immediately retreat?  On page 5

A:  “Any survivors that were Fired Upon may THEN return Fire.”


Q:  “Attacking Active Troops may Surprise Fire at any defending Troops individually”.  Does this mean I can roll my attacking dice one at a time instead of all at once?

A:  This is just referring to the fact that the defenders are in Groups of 1.  You don’t trigger a return fire from the whole ‘group’ by firing at 1 of them -because you are firing at them individually.  


Q:  Castles and defending.  Do defenders, in a castle, without an HQ, retreat per the rule on page 5 which says “All defenders must the Retreat, No further rounds”?

A:  No.  This doesn’t apply to them.  Defenders in Castles don’t need HQs to stay hunkered down and defend.  


Q:  Set up  I noticed that there are extra pieces left over when gathering the troops foe each side. Are these in case we lose pieces or do they form a starter dead pool for each side?

A:  We tried to provide a few extra Troop pieces in case you loose some.  So no, these aren’t intended to be used as a starter dead pool.  


Q:  I’m still a bit confused about the organization of “Troops” and “Groups” in battle. At the beginning of a battle before doing the search rolls, are each sides troops arranged so that each group has the maximum allowed troops?

A:  Players can arrange them how they want but it is usually best to have bigger groups.  The maximum won’t always be possible –if you end up with left over troops. 


Q:  For example if the Muslims had 5 Troops, would they required to be arranged into three Groups, two containing two Troops each and the other containing one Troop?

A:  Yes, exactly.


Q:  Dracula has eight Troops forming two Groups of four Troops each. The Muslims have five Troops forming three Groups, two Groups containing two Troops each and the last containing only one Troop. Say the result of the Search rolls is that both Dracula’s Groups are Active and only the Muslim Group with one Troop is active. I know that Dracula must use at least the number of Troops as the Muslims have Active to fire on them. Must then Dracula use one Group of four Troops to fire on the only Active Muslim Group containing one Troop?

 The second Dracula Group could then fire on the Inactive Muslim troops. Or could Dracula use only one Troop to fire on the Active Muslim Group of one Troop leaving the rest of Dracula’s seven Troops, to fire on the Muslim Inactive Troops?

In short, are Groups only considered when determining how many groups an HQ can control and when searching, of must Troops remain togehter also when firing?

A:  The short answer is:  Yes, groups are used for searching.  Once you are active and can fire, you are free to choose who to fire at but you must declare this first.  Groups are also important in terms of tracking the defender’s Inactive Groups. 

For the long answer, check out our Blog.


Q:  When I roll to search with 4 groups and 4 dice do I have to nominate which die for which group?  E.g. 3 of my groups have 2 troops and one has 1. Depending on my nominations I could have different numbers of troops able to fire depending on my dice results.

A:  Yes exactly.   It does matter so you should designate which group you are rolling for if it makes a difference. 

 


 

Q:  Is it the case that enemies cannot co-exist in one area (apart from castles)? I.e. at the end of the turn on side must be destroyed or retreated, otherwise battle must continue.

A:  Yes, true.  The battle should continue until 1 side either retreats out or is destroyed.  You can’t sit there in battle over several turns.  -Not counting Castle sieges.    


 

 

Q:  When recruiting, there must be units available to recruit? I.e. I can’t take them from impalements?

A:  Yes, there must be pieces in the dead pile to recruit from.  No, you can’t take down impalements to recruit. 

 


 

Q:  I also noticed the ink scratches on the fabric map when moving pieces or due to finger nails. Can you recommend a fixer that is safe to use?

A:  Lol…  Who are you playing with, the Wolfman?   🙂   There are scratch marks in the artwork of the map texture that makes it look like it has been clawed.

You can leave wear slight marks with your fingernails and sliding pieces.  They usually aren’t too noticeable.  I very lightly rubbed the map with a damp washcloth and they came off.  Be careful though.  The ink can smudge and stain a little.

I sprayed a sample piece with clear Satin finish coat.  It does seem to protect the map and make it more resistant to ‘claw marks’.  I just used a regular can of Krylon.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *