Q: If I attack a Minor that has an ICBM, where do they launch it?
A: You shouldn’t be attacking a Minor that has an ICBM unless you have at least 1 ABM. Sometimes desperation forces your hand. They should attack the home area from the Superpower that attacked them, with the greatest point value: cards and forces. All else being equal they will prefer to strike areas with cities. Roll a die if still equal.
Q: What happens if my last city is nuked but I have conquered an opponent on the same attack phase?
The player you conquered is out of the game at the end of the Combat phase. His score: 0. You are also out at the end of the phase but you get points based on what you have left, including the points you just got from the conquest.
Q: If I conquer a player but then go bankrupt who wins?
The conquered player is out at the end of Combat. Score: 0. You wouldn’t go bankrupt until the beginning of the next Salaries phase. Your score would be zero also but you have a technical win for lasting longer.
Why would you go bankrupt? Remember, when you conquer a player you get all of his cash, cards and his Strategic Reserve card. This means you can borrow an additional $12TL. That should be enough to keep you afloat for a few turns.
Q: Can a player nuke their own home city?
No, this is pretty gamey. The game is more fun and interesting if you try to think of it in real world terms.
Q: Does it cost oil to transport troops if the transporting navy stays in a single sea zone?
Only if you are doing this as Redeploying/Reinforcing. If it is part of an Invasion/Attack, the oil has already been paid for with the set of supplies for the attack.
Q: When an activated navy makes “one move before combat”, are they limited in range, or can they move as far as they want (oil permitting)?
They are limited to 1 regular move meaning 3 spaces. It also doesn’t cost oil for the Navy to move. That was paid for with the attack. You can’t spend extra oil to move further.
Q: If a minor power has bought navies, will they contest foreign navies attacking and/or invading their home?
Yes, they must and will continue to resist until they are all destroyed.
Q: During setup, If players do not wish to place simultaneously, do they chose and place one unit at a time, or place all nine before passing to the next player?
They place all their forces at once. Rotating 1 at a time might be a fun optional rule but it takes longer.
Q: Do blockading players keep the resources they take from the blockaded player, or are they simply lost?.
Yes, you take them, put them on your Strat Res card and can use them.
Q: Suppose I want to trade fewer than three resources on the open market. May I pass on my first or second option and still trade on my third option? If so, do I have to specify which resource I am passing on?
It sounds like you are taking something wrong here. You can make 1 trade per resource. (There are 3 resources so you can make 3 trades) You can trade any quantity you like. –as long as the fit on the card, etc.
So for example, you could buy 1 oil, sell 4 grains and buy 12 minerals, when it is your turn to trade.
Q: Can navies move through sea zones while transporting armies? The rules on page seven only state armies can be picked up in a adjacent land area and transported to another adjacent land area.
Yes, and they can remain at sea with the Armies for longer distance moves.
Q: Can navies redeploy into sea zones occupied by only friendly units?
Yes, friendly navies are ok.
Q: Also, what about areas occupied only by minor navies – can these be redeployed into?
No. These are potentially hostile.
Q: Can we load transports with armies and leave them loaded till the next turn?
Q: If multiple nukes are detonation in a single land area, does this count as multiple nuclear land detonations, or only as one?
Good question. This does happen, especially when somebody has ABMs and players are launching multiple ICBMs. A destroyed land area only counts as 1 detonation even if hit with multiple ICBMs. After ABMs fire, just place 1 mushroom cloud in the area if it was destroyed.
Also, remember that sea zones do not count towards this so you don’t place clouds at sea.
Q: Is the “plus one” added to the nuclear winter roll for land detonations cumulative?
Yes, this is cumulative. So the chances of having a nuclear winter go up with each additional strike.
Q: If a player sells navies to a minor power adjacent to more than one sea zone, in which sea are those navies placed?
The seller places them.
Q: If a player sells armies to another superpower, does it cost resources to move those armies to their new homes?
Yes, this is part of the deal. Somebody has to pay to move them. If the buyer is a minor, we assume they pay their own transportation. Redeploy them to a sea area adjacent to a controlled home area of the buyer. At that point, switch the colors.
Q: If a player wants to sell navies to a minor, can other players void the sale by blocking the movement of those navies via chock points? ie, USA wants to sell navies from the East Coast to Turkey, but opponents controlling Egypt and Spain wish to keep those boats out of the Mediterranean.
Q: I’m a little confused. It talks about Naval Combat under the Combat phase but then later under Redeploy phase the rules state that Navies can only enter unoccupied sea areas. ??
A: Yes, your Navies can’t enter occupied sea areas but this only applies to redeployments. (including reinforcement) All combat must happen during the Combat phase. This is where you enter enemy controlled seas and fight.
Q: Can you clarify what is meant by simultaneous fire?
A: Yes! In some games, the defender fires first. Then you apply losses to the attacker before the attacker gets to fire. Not here. Both sides fire at once. After all the rolls, then apply losses to both sides.
Q: I want to invade an area that is more than 1 sea move away. Can I do that?
A: Yes. 2 ways. First, you could load up and move your navies into position during the Redeploy phase. Next turn, you can attack and invade. During the Combat phase, the activated Navies may make another move before they unload.
The other way is to activate and move your Navies with loaded Armies as an Attack. When the attack is complete, simply activate them again for your next attack.
Q: If enemy Navies move through my sea area, can I stop them?
A: Yes, but remember this happens during the Attack phase. Another player cannot enter a sea area containing your Navies during the Move phase. If they move into your area during attack, you may let them sail through unharmed. You may also ‘stop’ them and force a Naval Combat by declaring that you contest control. Your option, however the opposing player may declare to contest control on you and force you to fight while he is there.
Q: If I get a tech card in my starting hand does that mean I start with that technology?
A: No. This card does not count. Return it to the deck and draw a replacement.
Q: Once all the players have ICBMs, should we remove those cards from the deck?
A: No. Leave these in the deck. In effect they are dead cards. You must pay for them while drawing but they have no effect.
Q: What happens to Company cards that are nuked? Remove them from the game?
A: No. Return these to the deck. They become dead cards also. You must pay for them but you can’t use them. For example, if you are researching minerals and pull a ‘nuked’ mineral card, you must pay for it and your attempt fails. Return it to the deck.
Q: I conquered a Minor power. Then I leave. Can I just move back in later because I already destroyed the Minor’s Armies?
A: No. You only control a Minor as long as you have an Army there. If you leave, the area returns to uncontrolled status. You must attack it again to occupy and roll for new Minor Armies there as usual.
Q: I attacked a Minor but failed to conquer them. What happens to their remaining Armies? Do we roll for additional Armies when I attack them again?
A: Just leave any left over Armies in the area. These are their forces for when they are attacked again. There is no additional roll for Armies.
Q: Do you still roll for Minor Armies if there are Armies present from an Arms Sell?
A: Yes. The forces they have from an Arms Sale is in addition to the regular forces they have.
Q: I am about to be wiped out by my enemy. Can I instantly give everything away to my ally before I die?
A: I know you’ll want to but no. You can give aid to other players. You can also sell things. This has to happen during private trade. You cannot work any deals during the attack phase and conquest happens then.
Q: Can ABMs fire at other ABMs?
A: No. They are considered ground based now and only defensive. If players all agree, it is still pretty easy to play by the old L-Star rules and allow this. It is kind of a fun option.
Q: Can we still to Space Bursts?
A: The satellite laser defense system was a fantasy of the 80’s. It’s not very feasible even today. Missile defense has mostly developed as ground based systems. Still, this can be a fun game rule. Players can easily use this if they all agree ahead of time.
Q: I confused about interest. How does that work exactly? What determines interest?
A: This sounds intimidating at first but it is actually very easy once you see how it works.
What determines interest? The amount of loans or bonds as shown on the Strategic Reserve Card.
So let’s say you have 10 TL in debt. Every salary phase you must pay 1.8 TL (1,800 BL) in interest to the bank.
Bonds work the same way in reverse. If you have 6 bonds, the bank will pay you .7 TL (700BL) every salary phase.
can be a fun game rule. Players can easily use this if they all agree ahead of time.
Q: Can a player give away his money and resources to another player?
A: Yes, HOWEVER, it can only be done in the Private Trades portion of the turn. If you didn’t do it then, you must wait until the next Trade Phase.
So, no. You can’t wait until the middle of the Combat phase and have your buddies bail you out by giving you resources to fight with and cash.
Q: Can Company cards controlled by the Terrorist be blockaded?
A: Yes. The Terrorist to must be able to ship their products out in a big way to sell them. Yes they could smuggle things out by roads to the black market but this is very slow, tedious and expensive. By the time you pull all that off, it’s not worth much. Ask Iran.